Script amp-functions.php threw an exception Message: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. Stack Trace: at System.RuntimeMethodHandle.InvokeMethod(Object target, Object[] arguments, Signature sig, Boolean constructor) at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.UnsafeInvokeInternal(Object obj, Object[] parameters, Object[] arguments) at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.Invoke(Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, Binder binder, Object[] parameters, CultureInfo culture) at org.libercus.ScriptHandler.ExecuteScript(BaseSession Session, String Language, LibVarSpace VarScope, String ScriptName, String Method, String References, Boolean Debug) in E:\TeamCity\buildagent\work\407d2367caebea6f\main\Libercus\Handlers\ScriptHandler.cs:line 266 at org.libercus.ScriptHandler.TagExecute() in E:\TeamCity\buildagent\work\407d2367caebea6f\main\Libercus\Handlers\ScriptHandler.cs:line 37 Inner exceptions: Message: Unable to cast object of type 'System.String' to type 'PHP.Core.PhpReference'. Stack Trace: at CallSite.Target(Closure , CallSite , Object , ScriptContext , Object ) at AmpCheck.check_amp_status(ScriptContext , Object libercus) at AmpCheck.check_amp_status(Object libercus) SNGWEB05 - 8/19/2018 6:31:01 AM UTC

Weber GOP selects nominees for commission seats, sheriff and more

Sunday , April 15, 2018 - 5:00 AM

EDITOR’S NOTE: This story has been updated to add an omitted candidate’s name and to correct the spelling of another candidate’s name.

PLEASANT VIEW — The Weber County Republican Party Convention has selected its 2018 nominees.

The 2018 Nominating Convention ran late, with three rounds of voting needed to select nominees for one commissioner seat and the Sheriff’s race. Much of the delay came from complicated changes to the controversial candidate selection process, which allows some party hopefuls to bypass the delegates and earn a spot on the ballot via petition.

Gage Froerer, who had already secured a place on the ballot for Commission Seat A after gathering enough petition signatures, garnered 52 percent of the delegates’ votes in the third round of voting. James Couts will also appear on the Republican primary ballot after he received 48 percent of the final votes.

Incumbent James Ebert had already secured a place on the ballot after gathering enough petition signatures as well. 

> As Weber Co. GOP convention looms, candidate-selection process draws fire

After two rounds of voting, Scott Jenkins became the GOP’s nominee for Commission Seat B with support from 51 percent of the delegates.

The GOP nominee for Weber County Sheriff will be Ryan Arbon, who had already secured a place on the ballot via petition. Arbon earned 62 percent of the delegates’ support after three rounds of voting. Kevin Burns will also have a place on the primary ballot after receiving 38 percent of the vote, along with David MacInnes who earned a spot with petition signatures. 

County Attorney Chris Allred and County Clerk/Auditor Ricky Hatch are both up for re-election this year, but no Republicans have challenged their seats.

The party’s legislative district nominee results are still “unofficial,” although party representatives said the official results will likely be posted to the Weber County Republican Party website by Sunday morning.

The Legislative District 7 unofficial nominee is Kyle Andersen. Lisa Roskelley secured a place on the ballot via petition signatures.

In Legislative District 8, Froerer’s former district, both Jason Kyle and Steve Waldrip will appear on the primary ballot.

The Legislative District 9 nominee is Calvin Musselman, who earned more than 70 percent of his delegates’ votes.

In Legislative District 10, both Terry Schow and Lorraine Brown will be on the primary ballot, with Schow earning 49.2 percent of the vote and Brown earning 50.8 percent.

The Republican Primary election will be on June 26 and the general election is Nov. 6.

Contact Reporter Leia Larsen at 801-625-4289 or [email protected]. Follow her on or on Twitter @LeiaLarsen.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.