Ervin, Porter, Frazier collect top honors from VHSCA

Kevin Mays • Mar 25, 2019 at 7:52 PM

Southwest Virginia was well represented in the 2018-19 VHSCA all-state basketball teams released Monday.

The Virginia High School Coaches Association named Gate City senior Zac Ervin co-player of the year along with Radford’s Quinton Morton-Robertson on the Class 2 boys team.

Robin Dotson, who led Wise Central’s Lady Warriors to a third straight state championship and fifth in six years, was the Class 2 girls coach of the year.

Central’s Brook Porter and Ridgeview’s Bailey Frazier were selected co-players of the year on the Class 2 girls team.

The Class 2 girls team had six first-teamers out of the Mountain 7 District: Porter and Frazier, Central’s Dee Cvetnich and Olivia Mullins, Gate City’s Sarah Thompson and Ridgeview’s Nikole Counts.

The Mountain 7 also had a first-team pick on the Class 3 all-state girls team in Abingdon’s Peyton Carter.

On the Class 1 boys team, Eastside coach Patrick Damron and Surry County’s James Pope Jr. shared coach of the year honors.


VHSCA Class 2 All-State Boys Basketball 

Co-Players of the Year

Zac Ervin, Gate City; Quinton Morton-Robertson, Radford

Co-Coaches of the Year

Rick Cormany, Radford; Carey Keyes, East Rockingham

First Team

Tyler Nickel, East Rockingham, Fr.

Deion Harwood, Goochland, Sr.

Miles Jones, Radford, Sr.

Dalton Jefferson, East Rockingham, Sr.

Drew Baker, Graham, Sr.

Bradley Dean, Gate City, Jr.

Zykeem Fields, Greensville, So.

Max Ashton, George Mason, Sr.

Second Team

JaQuan Miller, Brunswick, Sr.

Chris Gregory, Bluestone, Sr.

Hollman Smith, George Mason, Sr.

Nigal Davis, Martinsville, Sr.

Cam Cormany, Radford, So.

Cam Allen, Graham, Sr.

Quincy Sneed, Goochland, Jr.

Tyler Gilliam, Appomattox, Jr.

VHSCA Class 1 All-State Boys Basketball

Player of the Year

Monte Pope, Surry County, Sr.

Co-Coaches of the Year

James Pope Jr., Surry County; Patrick Damron, Eastside

First Team

Zhamare Slade, Surry County, Sr.

Mikael Jaaber, Carver Academy, Sr.

Grant Painter, Riverheads, Jr.

Jake Watters, Bland County, Sr.

Ty Farrow, George Wythe, Jr.

Caleb Williams, J.I. Burton, Sr.

Ethan Powers, Eastside, Jr.

Dreyln Ford, Franklin, Sr.

Second Team

Savion Epps, Rappahannock, Sr.

Aneis Lyons, Colonial Beach, Sr.

Mark Patterson Jr., Cumberland, Sr.

Dylan Catron, Chilhowie, Sr.

Zach Clayton, Parry McCluer, Sr.

Cade Looney, Grundy, So.

Grayson Honaker, Honaker, So.

Ethan Milirons, Auburn, Fr.

VHSCA Class 2 All-State Girls Basketball

Co-Players of the Year

Brook Porter, Wise Central; Bailey Frazier, Ridgeview

Coach of the Year

Robin Dotson, Wise Central

First Team

Brook Porter, Wise Central, Sr.

Bailey Frazier, Ridgeview, Sr.

Lauren Williams, Page County, Sr.

Jaden Alsbury, Strasburg, Jr.

Sarah Thompson, Gate City, So.

Alexis Kiser, Floyd County, So.

Dee Cvetnich, Wise Central, Sr.

Olivia Mullins, Wise Central, Sr.

Lenah Clements, Greensville County, Sr.

Nikole Counts, Ridgeview, Sr.

Second Team

Ali Berry, East Rockingham, Sr.

LaTroya Gravely, Martinsville, Sr.

Leah Hilliard, Page County, Fr.

Amaya Lee, Virginia High, Sr.

Averie Price, Lebanon, Jr.

Taylor Owens, Virginia High, Sr.

Emili Brooks, Union, Jr.

Jaden Fullen, Gate City, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Makeyla Mease, Gretna; Emilee Weekly, Luray; Maddie Larroix, George Mason; Zoraida Icabalceta, George Mason; Damai Harris, Prince Edward County; Sarijah Robinson, Greensville County; Jayda Smith, Union.

VHSCA Class 1 All-State Girls Basketball

Player of the Year

Jayda Boyd, Appomattox Regional Gov. School

Coach of the Year

Adam Gilbert, Parry McCluer

First Team

Essence Brown, Galax, Sr.

Bre’cha Byrd, Surry County, Jr.

LeeAnna McNulty, Honaker, So.

Madison Dunlap, Parry McCluer, Sr.

Breanna Yarber, Patrick Henry, So.

Jasmyn Pierce, Surry County, Sr.

Peyton Mohler, Parry McCluer, Sr.

Sara Moore, Riverheads, Sr.

Second Team

Shea Foxx, Galax, Jr.

Kylene Franklin, Stonewall Jackson, So.

Hailey Huffman, Parry McCluer, Sr.

Kaylee Yates, Eastside, Jr.

Alexis Nelson, Surry County, Sr.

Drea Betts, George Wythe, So.

Leah Kestner, Chilhowie, Sr.

Emma Camden, Parry McCluer, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Peyton Phillipe, George Wythe; Hailey Hagarty, West Point; Olivia Atkins, Rappahannock County; Savannah Goodman, Rappahannock County; Liyah French; Makenzie Ingo, George Wythe; Charlotte Mabry, Altavista; Anna Whited, Eastside.

Kingsport Times News Videos