Clinchport returns six incumbents to office; St. Charles election draws no voters

Mike Still • May 20, 2020 at 3:50 PM

CLINCHPORT — Two Southwest Virginia local elections were decided Tuesday — one by write-in ballots and one by no votes.

In Scott County, Clinchport Mayor Sherry Carter returned to office with six write-in ballots. Incumbent town council members Larry R. Carter, Mary B. Carter, Andy Meade and Rita K. Thompson won re-election with six write-in votes apiece. Newcomer Brady F. Palmer won election with six write-in votes.

Town Recorder Tammy R. Meade returned to office with six write-in votes.

In Lee County, St. Charles voters cast no ballots, absentee or in-person Tuesday. Lee County General Registrar Patsy Burchett said Tuesday marked the third town election where no one has taken office.

In 2016, there were eight write-in votes for mayor and council members, Burchett said, but none of those elected took the oath of office within 30 days of election, under Virginia law. The 2018 town election followed with no candidates, she said, and Tuesday’s election drew no voters.

The site administrator has disabled comments for this story.