no avatar

Alvey edges Byrd to win at The Gap

By Jeff Birchfield • Jul 2, 2019 at 9:30 PM

Tim Byrd got caught in a traffic jam Saturday night and it cost him his first win of the season at Volunteer Speedway.

The three-time track champion from Jonesborough was leading on the final lap of the Crate Late Model feature when he got held up by a slower car on the backstretch. It allowed Heath Alvey to get inside him and the two raced off turn 4 bidding for the win.

In a side-by-side race to the finish, Alvey ended up winning by a foot over Byrd. It was the Dandridge driver’s first win of the year at the four-tenths-mile dirt track.

Byrd, who had struggled the previous couple of races, had his blue No. 24 machine working well Saturday night. Starting on the front row, he powered to the early lead and stayed there until the end.

However, Alvey ultimately took home the $1,500 prize for the win. Trevor Sise, Shannon Emery and Adam Ahl rounded out the top five in a 22-car field.

There was an even bigger field of Sportsman Late Models, 28 cars strong before it was whittled to 24 for the A-Main. Harrogate’s Travis Fultz grabbed the lead at the start and rolled to the win. Adam Mitchell, Rex Coffey, Mitchell Burke and Jason Sizemore rounded out the top five.

David Clark of Tazewell led flag to flag to win the Modified Street feature ahead of Wayne Rader, Shannon Emery, Kaleb Trent and Kurt Owens.

Corryton’s Eli Keck held off John Stevens for the Classic win. Josh Henry of Newport charged from the back of the field to win in Street Stock, and Tony Trent finished in the runner-up spot after Josh Driskill had a flat tire on the final lap. Derik Duggan of Lenoir City led all 20 laps to capture the Mini Stock feature ahead of runner-up Tommy Newton.

More than 100 entries over the six divisions made for another great night for new track owner Landon Stallard. Stallard has been active on social media, thanking fans and participants as well as addressing their concerns. His efforts and the work at the speedway have paid dividends and brought rave reviews from competitors and fans alike.

A big crowd is expected for this Saturday night’s Firecracker 135. The first 40 fans will be admitted free and a fireworks show will follow the six-division program of races.


Good support continues for Kingsport Speedway this season. The car count in the featured Late Model Stock division has been up the past couple of races, and big fields have competed in the Pure 4 division at the three-eighths-mile concrete oval.

This Friday is “Fan Appreciation Night,” which will be headlined by twin 35-lap Late Model Stock races. Kingsport’s Ronnie McCarty has been on a hot streak, winning the past two Late Model features. Racing in the Mod Street, Mod 4, Pure 4 and Pure Street divisions also is on tap.


The DER Bracket Series at Bristol Dragway was blessed with a huge count of 300-plus cars, although rain played havoc with Sunday’s schedule.

That didn’t dampen the spirits of the Brown family from Blountville. Carson Brown won the Super Pro division race and his younger brother, Tucker, won in Junior Dragster, Division 3 — the first time the two won races on the same day.

Six-time track champion Jerry Turner of Bluff City continued to lead the two-wheel ranks with his Motorcycle victory. Other winners were Randy Biddle (Pro), Ed Cannon (Sportsman), Mark Bowery (Trophy), Braydon McCown (Junior Dragster, Division 1) and Baylee Griffith (Division 2).

Bristol Dragway is set to host the BTE World Footbrake Challenge on Thursday through Sunday. Thursday features a test-and-tune, followed by a $3,000-to-win Gambler’s Race.

The winner on each of the next three days’ races will win $10,000. In the footbrake competition, racers are not allowed to use electronic equipment to help them achieve a perfect start.


Kingsport rider Carson Eads piled up more wins at the latest Hot Summer Nights Supercross Series race at I-81 Motorsports Park.

Eads outran Andrew Carver of Jonesborough to win the Schoolboy division. Eads also won in Super Mini and scored a runner-up finish in a third class.

Alex Colley of Norton won three races, holding off Kingsport’s Jackson Horne in 85cc, 9-11. Horne posted two runner-up finishes.

In the youngest division, Lane Milhorn of Watauga won the 51cc (4-6 class) over Jackson Statzer of Elizabethton. Jonesborough’s Jake Hillman also had a runner-up finish in the 51cc Open. Seth Fields and Laken Fields of Church Hill went 1-2 in the 65cc, 7-9 race.

Bo Hughes of Roan Mountain finished second in the Pro race. Among the runners-up were Jonesborough’s Justin Carberry (250 D), Elizabeth-ton’s Nick Hammons (450 D), Hampton’s Bailey Hughes (Unlimited B), Kingsport’s Braeden Fletcher (125 cc, 2-stroke), Blountville’s Justin Keith (30+) and Johnson City’s Alton Clark (ATV Novice).

The Hot Summer Nights Series is scheduled to return to I-81 Motorsports Park on Saturday.

Contact Jeff Birchfield via email at [email protected]

Kingsport Times News Videos