no avatar

Neglia-led Lady Indians win Big 11 XC crown

Jeff Birchfield • Oct 18, 2019 at 2:03 AM

BRISTOL, Tenn. — Sasha Neglia broke both her meet and course records in winning a fourth straight Big 11 Conference individual girls cross country championship Thursday at Steele Creek Park.

For Neglia, however, the bigger accomplishment than her 17:42 race was leading her team to the championship.

“I just want to be a team player and we’re all in this together,” Neglia said. “It’s good how all of us work together.”

The Lady Indians earned a 29-60 win over runner-up Daniel Boone in the team standings.

The Lady Indians’ Emma Russum finished third overall in a time of 19:19, followed by Julianna McReynolds in fifth at 19:57. Autumn Headrick (20:14, seventh) and Gracie Allen (21:08, 13th) rounded out D-B’s scoring.

“Last year, we fell short, so it’s good to come back strong this time,” Russum said. “It was a good race. The course was rough, but we ran well.”

Russum was referring to the Lady Indians’ 43-47 defeat by the Lady ’Blazers in last year’s overall race.

D-B coach Bob Bingham was understandably proud of his team, particularly the role which Neglia played.

“Sasha has put a lot of work in. She ran faster than last year. She’s in a good place right now,” Bingham said. “We’re on fall break now and for her to do that, it tells you how focused she is. I’m happy. The times for us are better than they were last year.

“It’s the conference meet and cross country is a lot more team than track,” Bingham added. “Our goal was to win this thing.”

Science Hill finished third in the team standings with 70 points.

Tennessee High’s Zoe Arrington was second individually at 18:51. Kamryn Wingfield of Daniel Boone (19:46) placed fourth.


Daniel Boone won its fourth straight boys conference championship and eighth in nine years.

Placing five runners in the top seven, the Trailblazers beat runner-up Science Hill 26-48.

“We’re so senior-oriented. We had five seniors on our varsity seven,” Boone coach Len Jeffers said. “They’re all about the team. Some of the stories I could tell that they’ve done for their teammates would blow your mind. They have fun outside of school and practice. They’re tight-knit like a family.”

Sophomore Conner Wingfield (16:24) led Boone’s efforts with a second-place finish. Max Austin (17:12) was third, followed by Bryson Lewis (17:23, sixth), Keaton Smith (17:40, seventh) and Mason Lewis (17:47, eighth).

Two other Boone runners — Jameson Cline and Carlos Brown — made the top 15 to earn all-conference honors.

Science Hill’s Aaron Jones ran 16:14 to win the individual boys title.

“I wasn’t trying to do too much. I was just going out there to get the job done,” Jones said. “I did that and I’m happy about that.”

Dobyns-Bennett finished third with 96 points in the team standings. Caleb Amburn (17:54, 11th) and Dane Sullins (18:15, 15th) made all-conference.

Dillon Youngblood of Sullivan South (17:52) finished 10th to earn all-conference.

Rylan Greene of Volunteer (18:27) missed all-conference by one spot.

Big 11 Cross Country Championships

Thursday, Oct. 17

At Steele Creek Park, Bristol, Tenn.


Team standings

1. Daniel Boone 26, 2. Science Hill 48, 3. Dobyns-Bennett 96, 4. David Crockett 129, 5. Volunteer 150, 6. Tennessee High 165, 7. Sullivan South 195, 8. Elizabethton 199, 9. Unicoi County 230

All-conference finishers

1. Aaron Jones, Science Hill, 16:14

2. Conner Wingfield, Daniel Boone, 16:24

3. Max Austin, Daniel Boone, 17:12

4. Ray Richarson, Science Hill, 17:16

5. Bryson Livesay, David Crockett, 17:23

6. Bryson Lewis, Daniel Boone, 17:37

7. Keaton Smith, Daniel Boone, 17:40

8. Mason Lewis, Daniel Boone, 17:47

9. Jameson Cline, Daniel Boone, 17:52

10. Dillon Youngblood, Sullivan South, 17:52

11. Caleb Amburn, Dobyns-Bennett, 17:54

12. Zach Cooper, Science Hill, 17:56

13. Carlos Brown, Daniel Boone, 18:07

14. Steven Johnson, Science Hill, 18:12

15. Dane Sullins, Dobyns-Bennett, 18:15


Team standings

1. Dobyns-Bennett 29, 2. Daniel Boone 60, 3. Science Hill 70, 4. David Crockett 80, 5. Tennessee High 131, 6. Volunteer 166, 7. Sullivan South 193

All-conference finishers

1. Sasha Neglia, Dobyns-Bennett, 17:42

2. Zoe Arrington, Tennessee High, 18:51

3. Emma Russum, Dobyns-Bennett, 19:19

4. Kamryn Wingfield, Daniel Boone, 19:49

5. Julianna McReynolds, Dobyns-Bennett, 19:57

6. Patricia Chellah, Daniel Boone, 20:11

7. Autumn Headrick, Dobyns-Bennett, 20:14

8. Rachel Dulaney, David Crockett, 20:16

9. Trinny Duncan, Science Hill, 20:24

10. Ashlynn Roy, David Crockett, 20:43

11. Judy Chellah, Daniel Bone, 20:55

12. Destiny Haller, Science Hill, 21:03

13. Gracie Allen, Dobyns-Bennett, 21:08

14. Jordan McIntosh, Science Hill, 21:17

15. Ashley Doyle, Science Hill, 21:17

Kingsport Times News Videos