no avatar

D-B wins region, qualifies all 14 wrestlers for state; Volunteer sends 5 to Franklin

Jeff Birchfield • Feb 16, 2020 at 1:47 AM

CHURCH HILL — The dream season continues for the Dobyns-Bennett wrestling team.

The Indians captured six individual titles in Saturday’s Region 1-AAA championships at Volunteer, and all 14 D-B wrestlers qualified for next week’s state meet in Franklin.

Cannon Mullins started the finals by capturing the 106-pound weight class and heavyweight Caleb Burleson ended the regional by earning an 8-7 decision over Morristown West’s Don McAmis.

The Indians won the team title with 239.5 points. Science Hill was runner-up with 178.

“I’m so proud of everybody and the way everybody responded,” D-B coach Wesley Idlette said. “To take all 14 wrestlers to the state tournament, that’s big for the program. They’ve got one more week to chase that dream. Everybody set a goal at the beginning of the season and now they’re in position to chase that goal.”

Brennan Watkins (126), Jackson Hurst (145), Clint Morrisette (170) and Aidan Rhoton (182) also captured individual crowns. Four others — Gavin Armstrong (113), Greyson Cunningham (120), Eli Whitley (132) and Tre Morrisette (160) — reached the finals. Shane Lemons (138), Patrick Mitchell (152), Eli Smith (195) and Jesse Greer (220) also earned a trip to state.

“Aidan, for him as a freshman at that weight, wrestle a senior and come out victorious, that was big for him,” Idlette said. “Jackson is a great wrestler. He controlled the match (against Science Hill’s Jahkye Aples) the way he wanted to. Clint and Tre feed off each other. They’re competitive with each other and they’re competitive on the mat. I’m proud of both of them.”


Volunteer had five wrestlers advance to the state tournament, highlighted by the individual championships for brothers Ben and Alex Tucker. Freshman Ben Tucker beat D-B’s Armstrong in an 8-0 major decision in the 113 finals. Alex Tucker, a senior, pinned Levi Grunder of Science Hill in the 195 final.

“This means everything because we’ve been wrestling since we were small kids and to see the progress pay off,” Alex Tucker said. “This is the only year I will be in high school with my brother. I cannot wait to compete with my brother at state.”

Jacob Gladson (160) and Ethan Rimer (285) each finished third in their respective weight classes for the Falcons, and Evan Glass was fourth at 106.


Science Hill had three champs: Tyler Seeley (132), Joseph Frye (152) and Jared Harter (160), who scored a 7-5 decision over Tre Morrisette. Two Jefferson County grapplers, Landon Fisher (138) and Ryver Shelton (220), won titles and Perry Roller of Tennessee High won the 120 weight class.



Team results

1. Dobyns-Bennett 239.5, 2. Science Hill 178, 3. Jefferson County 136.5, 4. Morristown East 91.5, 5. Volunteer 91, 6. Morristown West 68, 7. Tennessee High 56, 8. David Crockett 48, 9. Daniel Boone 31, 10. Cocke County 8

Championship round

106—Cannon Mullins (D-B) 10-3 dec. over Jeremiah Skeen (MW)

113—Ben Tucker (Vol) major dec. 8-0 over Gavin Armstrong (D-B)

120—Perry Roller (TH) pin Greyson Cunningham (D-B), 3:54

126—Brennan Watkins (D-B) dec. 6-3 over Javelle Gillespie (SH)

132—Tyler Seeley (SH) pin Eli Whitley (D-B), 1:02

138—Landon Fisher (JC) dec. 10-6 over Braxton Mann (SH)

145—Jackson Hurst (D-B) dec. 3-0 over Jahkye Aples (SH)

152—Joseph Frye (SH) dec. 6-2 over Logan Fisher (JC)

160—Jared Harter (SH) dec. 7-5 over Tre Morrisette (D-B)

170—Clint Morrisette (D-B) pin James Robinson (JC), 3:10

182—Aidan Rhoton (D-B) pin Hunter Bryant (JC), 2:58

195—Alex Tucker (Vol) pin Levi Grunder (SH) , 3:29

220—Ryver Shelton (JC) pin Jacob Spurlock (Boone), 3:36

285—Caleb Burleson (D-B) dec. 8-7 over Don McAmis (MW)

Third-place consolation

106—Ethan Stroud (ME) 19-4 tech. fall over Evan Glass (Vol)

113—Juan Ramos (MW) pin Junior Garcia (ME), 5:26

120—Giovanni Demetrikopolos (SH) pin Parker Sams (DC), 3:43

126—Landon Nelson (TH) dec. 5-1 over Guillermo Rodriguez (JC)

132—Rolando Duarte (ME) pin Keith Ankers (TH), 4:00

138—Shane Lemons (D-B) tech. fall 17-2 over Jonathan Reed (ME)

145—Lane Weatherford (JC) pin David Thompson (ME), 1:27

152—Teagan Waycaster (DC) pin Patrick Mitchell (D-B), 5:15

160—Jacob Gladson (Vol) forfeit over Jesse Bowman (Boone)

170—Liam Medina (SH) major dec. 17-8 over Julio Belmone (ME)

182—Damien Vance (DC) dec. 2-0 over Gerry Sapp (ME)

195—Eli Smith (D-B) pin Dylan Ashley (JC), 1:36

220—Sonny Watson (MW) forfeit over Jesse Greer (D-B)

285—Ethan Rimer (Vol) pin Keimel Redford (SH) , 2:59

Kingsport Times News Videos