Twenty Under 20 to honor 21 this year

Rick Wagner • Feb 28, 2020 at 9:00 PM

KINGSPORT — The Twenty Under 20 for 2020 has grown to Twenty-one Under 20 because of a tie.

STREAMWORKS recently announced the annual recognition, which this year will be on Tuesday, March 10, at the Milligan College Sutton Dining Hall with a recognition dinner and silent auction. The 21 students are from Northeast Tennessee, Southwest Virginia and Western North Carolina.Tickets are $35 and can be purchased at https://streamworkseducation.org/.

The event will celebrate the accomplishments of 21 folks younger than 20, which STREAMWORKS officials said have demonstrated exemplary achievements in community service, entrepreneurialism, leadership, academics and STEM or science, technology, engineering and math activities. 

“Seeing extraordinary students do extraordinary things, STREAMWORKS works to ensure these 21 individuals are recognized for their innovation and leadership in their communities and schools,” a news release from STREAMWORKS said. “Beyond the recognition of these students, this initiative will spotlight the critical necessity of STEM education throughout the region. Furthermore, these 21 individuals will serve as ambassadors in their communities and set the example of personal excellence for other youth to model.”

The mission of STREAMWORKS is to create science, technology, engineering, arts and math (STEAM) initiatives that are designed to promote rigorous STEM activities and competitions in the region. STREAMWORKS is changing student’s lives by cultivating and nourishing grass roots efforts to establish an environment of critical and innovative thinkers which will foster a future workforce dedicated to fulfilling critical skills gaps in hi-demand technology career fields. One avenue STREAMWORKS utilizes to fulfill these goals is through the establishment of robotics teams and competitions over a variety of STEM disciplines. For event sponsorship opportunities, email [email protected]

The Twenty (Twenty-one) Under 20 Class of 2020

George Armentrout (Dobyns-Bennett High School)

Kallie Berry (Gate City High School)

Sally Chikomb (Dobyns-Bennett High School)

Gracie Crabtree (Milligan College)

Ashley Cusano (Union High School)

Franklin Dyer (Science Hill High School)

Ainsley Freeman (Greeneville High School)

Emmalynn Hamer (Morristown East High School)

Sophia Herrell (Greeneville High School)

Marah Mullins (East Tennessee State University)

Jacob Nance (David Crockett High School)

Taylor Parsons (Johnson County High School)

Shivam Patel (East Tennessee State University)

Seth Pierce (North Greene High School)

Lauren Ross (Volunteer High School)

Stella Seats (Northeast State Community College)

Tyler Starnes (Lincoln Memorial University)

Zachary Stephens (Happy Valley High School)

Kendrick Tate (Dobyns-Bennett High School)

Loren Vermillion (Gate City High School)

Veronica Watson (Elizabethton High School)

Kingsport Times News Videos