no avatar

Six in Tri-Cities win National Merit college-funded scholarship

Staff Report • Jun 6, 2018 at 8:30 AM

Six students from the Tri-Cities, three college-bound students from Johnson City and three from Kingsport, have won college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced Wednesday. The awards provide from $500 to $2,000 a year for up to four years of undergraduate study. Among about 3,500 winners announced Wednesday were:

— Molly Katherine Hance, a Johnson City resident and Science Hill High School graduate and a probably major in industrial organizational psychology, won a Vanderbilt University scholarship.

— Isaac G. Wright, also of Johnson City and an Science Hill graduate with a probable career field of biology, won a scholarship from the University of Texas at Dallas.

— Sydney M. Thomas of Johnson City, a graduate of University School at East Tennessee State University, has a probably major in pathology and won a scholarship to the University of South Carolina.

— Ashley Elizabeth Battsk, a Kingsport resident and Dobyns-Bennett High School graduate with a probable major in physics, won a scholarship from the University of Alabama.

— Nathaniel Silvey, also a D-B graduate from Kingsport with a probable major in engineering, won a scholarship from the University of Alabama.

—  Matthew Daniel Floyd, a homeschool graduate of Kingsport with a probably major in computer science, won a scholarship from the Univeristy of Tennessee.

An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2018 competition to about 4,000. This year, 178 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarships through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 100 private and 78 public institutions located in 44 states and the District of Columbia